a pace of mind

Road to BQ weeknote 05 Reignite

mileage: 42 miles
cross training: CrossFit
shoes: Nike Pegasus 40, Saucony Speed 3
song on repeat: i saw you by Fred Again

Joined the 5am club to avoid the SoCal heat. Woke up at 4:00am on Saturday to start running at 5am for my first true long run in awhile - 16 miles baby.

Okay, technically a long run is your longest run of the week, so I've always had a long run, but I was proud of getting past the half marathon mark, and feeling good doing it. I only felt my shin pinching a little bit for a short amount of time, so I call that a win.

42 mile volume for the week also didn't feel as bad as I thought in terms of fatigue, which shows running does add up, I credit it to all my previous training miles. The highest I got to last training cycle was 50 miles, and that was much later on.

I wasn't the only one at the 5am club, I had 3 other accountability buddies I knew of and when we showed up, there were 4 others that had the same thought. Running does take a lot of community and encouragement and I'm grateful for my also crazy friends.