a pace of mind

Road to BQ weeknote 04 Rock & Rope

mileage: 20 miles
cross training: Yin Yoga, Hiking
shoes: Saucony Kinvara 14, Altra Lone Peak 6
song on repeat: Breakeven by the Script

"I'm still alive but barely breathing" is how I felt hiking up Half Dome in Yosemite during Labor Day weekend. It's also how I feel during most races and long runs, any non-easy run really. I heard this throwback song at the gym while on the tread and thought, how apt.

Besides the series of endless stairmasters during the hike, my calves also got the most intense workout it's ever gotten as I was hanging on for dear life on the cables of the giant granite rock. I'd say it was very productive cross-training.

I was planning to do a long run day after the hike, was in it for about a mile before I realized I was on the ground. I didn't trip over anything specific. I'd blame the coarseness of the SF bay trail but I saw many other bikers and runners getting around just fine. so.."no wise words gonna stop the bleeding"?

And yes, I also prayed to a god I didn't believe in a few times on the big granite rock of Half Dome.