a pace of mind

Road to BQ weeknote 03 Ramp Up

mileage: 36 miles
cross training: CrossFit, tennis, climbing
shoes: Nike Pegasus 40
song on repeat: Line of Sight by Odesza

Eeek, + 20 mile volume jump from last week. The standard recommendation is you increase 10% volume each week, but if you previously ran, say 30 weekly miles, then you can accelerate a little bit. I might've ramped up too fast. I definitely questioned my decision for this week.

On Saturday, I woke up with a headache, feeling like my whole body was a brick, I could barely get out of bed, and I didn't. We did pull ups, well I did them assisted, during CrossFit this week and my arms were sore for 3 days.

Added a bit more speed work this week with tiny strides on easy runs and fast finishes on the long run. Slight shin pinching on the long run but not painful enough to stop.

My heart rate did seem to become lower than runs last week at similar speed. I think overall the risk to go big on volume was worth it.